Class Registration for 2021 is now open

Since the start of BLBW, we have worked with over 80 playwrights who have demonstrated their commitment to expand a diversity of diasporic experiences and thus, allowing audiences from a wide range of cultural backgrounds to see a reflection of themselves on and off stage. These plays have allowed artists and audiences to laugh, cry, unite and be consoled during these politically challenging times, bringing the true meaning to black lives matter.
At BLBW we are committed to develop, advocate and promote our BLBW writers and to demonstrate how necessary and important it is to have both authorship and ownership on our experiences.

Sign up and join the revolution.

PLAYWRITING AS ACTIVISM

Taught by Black Lives Black Words Co-Founder Reginald Edmund

May 25th, 2021- 7 PM GMT / 11 AM PST / 2 PM CST


In this workshop, we will learn and discuss the history and relevance of playwriting as activism. The role of the playwright in community activism, and examples of contemporary playwriting as a means of creating artistic revolutions. 


THE REVOLUTION CLASSES

USING CULTURE TO CREATE PLAY STRUCTURE


Taught by Dominic Taylor

Oct. 4th, 2020- 2pm PST/ 4 pm CST


August Wilson claimed that his 4 B's - Blues, Amiri Baraka, Romaine Bearden, and Jorge Luis Borges were the 4 main influences on his aesthetic. 


In this 2-hour workshop, Dominic Taylor will have you mine your cultural connnections to come up with a scaffolding to make new, provocative, and culturally connected work. 


Knowledge of For Colored Girls, The Colored Museum, and Mojo and the Sayso are helpful but not essential. Come with your imagination and desire to grow. 


USING CULTURE TO CREATE PLAY STRUCTURE


Taught by Reginald Edmund

Oct. 18th, 2020- 4pm PST/ 6 pm CST


Taking a look at HBO's hit tv series Lovecraft Country, award-winning playwright Reginald Edmund, in a two-hour workshop will guide you in the fundamentals of world-building. Through a series of brainstorming sessions and writing exercises you'll learn how to set the scene, map out your world, and look at history to create exciting narratives. Writing will share pieces of what they've created and receive peer and instructor feedback.
AUTHORS GROUP MENTORSHIP

Limited to only 5 writers.
In these special Group Mentorships you will hone in on your pages and polish your craft to really take your plays to the next level. You will have the opportunity to share your material with your classmates so that each writer will learn from their own feedback and the feedback given to their peers. You'll also be able to email the host during the week, so you are fully guided for the entire month.

Click here to edit title.

Need some extra assistance?

Click here to edit title.